My SRP 2014 – August 1

It’s August 1, meaning that Summer Reading Program (SRP) is officially over! Summer reading finale parties were a blast!

On July 30, I followed OPL boss Gary Wasdin to a couple different summer reading challenges. Our day started at Saddlebrook Branch with a pie throwing contest. Gary and select Saddlebrook staff were literally sitting targets as kids lined up to make messy plates of whipped cream, chocolate syrup and sparkles, and take aim. A few adults got in on the action as well. For my part, I was smart enough to not throw at one of my coworkers. Apologies to the staff member from Saddlebrook Community Center. City Council member Aimee Melton wasn’t shy about going after the library director… and she has very good aim! See more pictures from the event here.

Post-pie-pelting and still smiling!

Post-pie-pelting and still smiling!

Next, we headed to Milton R. Abrahams Branch for a Just Dance contest between Gary and staff member Sara Nelson. Watching your boss dance is kind of like watching your parents dance… I wasn’t sure if I should be embarrassed or proud. Either way, I could not stop laughing. Friends from the Omaha World-Herald were on hand to document the event, and I was able to snap a few pictures, too! According to the game, Sara was the clear winner, but Gary got an A for effort!

Gary Wasdin and Sara Nelson face off in Just Dance!

Gary Wasdin and Sara Nelson face off in Just Dance!

golem

I completed one last book for SRP: The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker. This was a selection from my book club. I believe they finished it in May… so I’m just a little bit behind. I’m not usually a big fan of books that introduce fantasy, but strangely, I found myself sympathizing with characters: A woman made of clay and a genie. I was a bit conflicted with the ending… so if you’re reading this, Ms. Wecker, I’d like a sequel!

Bess Johnson Elkhorn Branch was the last stop on my tour of OPL’s 12 locations during SRP. I joined Ms. Berry and the Omaha Storm Chasers for Storytime Picnic yesterday. The crowd was small, but everyone had a good time and enjoyed the visit from Storm Chasers’ mascot Kernal Cobb. After storytime, there were cookies, lemonade, sidewalk chalk and games. Photos from the event can be seen here!

Playing games during Storytime Picnic

Playing games during Storytime Picnic

Though SRP is over, there’s still a Storm Chasers game to take in this weekend if you completed your reading goals. I will be there on August 3 and hope to see a good turnout of OPL readers!

Leave a Reply

