My SRP 2014 – July 21

Oh my goodness! We’re in the final two weeks of Summer Reading Program and we’ve almost reached our registration goal. If you haven’t signed up, there’s still time and plenty of fun activities to enjoy! Remember, all ages are welcome.

Last week, I attended the Henna Tattoo program for teens at A.V. Sorensen Branch on July 17. I really wanted to participate and show my artwork to my friends over the weekend, but an unexpected television appearance stopped me in my tracks – which is a good thing because I also had family pictures over the weekend and almost forgot! Henna tattoos last for 2-3 weeks and I am pretty sure my family would not have been thrilled. Anyway, about eight teens came to the program and tested a variety of designs. Some used books for inspiration, while others perused patterns online. A few were even brave enough to freehand their design. Everyone had a good time and lent a helping hand when needed. View photos from the event on OPL’s Flickr page.

DSC_0198

Youth services librarian Kris Cram helping adhere a henna tattoo pattern

DSC_0212

Applying henna dye

On July 18, I met Ms. “Fancy” Nancy Rips from The Bookworm on the set of The Morning Blend to promote an upcoming Fancy Nancy party on Wednesday, July 23 at 10 a.m. The Fancy Nancy party will include storytelling and fashion show. Fancy girls of all ages are welcome to come dressed in their fanciest attire. A percentage of the proceeds from Fancy Nancy book sales that day will be donated to the Omaha Public Library Foundation toward the funding of Summer Reading Program.

fancy nancy

Emily and “Fancy” Nancy Rips on The Morning Blend

Next, I stopped by Millard Branch for Lego Club Jr. This is a program that takes place all year round and it’s pretty simple. Kids show up and build things with Legos, block and puzzles. Though there isn’t much to it, I couldn’t stop smiling while taking pictures. These kids were so proud of their creations and wanted to point out each time they added a new block. Another participant was more interested in destruction than construction, as she waited for her dad to build a tower of blocks just so she could knock it down. View photos from the event here and check out other Lego Clubs at OPL. It’s such a fun way to use your imaginations.

DSC_0312

So many Legos, so little time!

DSC_0388

Getting help building a Lego garage

Divergent

Divergent

Finally, I returned two items this morning that I completed over the weekend. First, I read Divergent by Veronica Roth in almost one sitting. I had been hesitant to read it for a while because somehow it felt like I was cheating on The Hunger Games, but I’m glad I read it, and my only criticism was that I felt like the ending happened too fast for me. I don’t mean to say that I wasn’t ready for it to end, just that I felt the whole book was leading up to something and then it all went down rather quickly and almost abruptly… unexpectedly. I don’t want to give anything away so I will stop there, but definitely think it’s worthwhile and will wait patiently for the next book in the series, Insurgent. I also returned Dallas Buyers Club. It was startling to see Matthew McConaughey so thin and then my mind drifted to all the things I would eat if I actually wanted to gain weight… but that’s a whole different blog. I can’t say much about the film other than it was sad and inspiring. It’s unbelievable how much the world has learned about HIV and AIDS in 20 years, and what people had to endure to acquire that knowledge.

 

Leave a Reply

