My SRP 2014 – July 14

Another busy week at OPL! I attended two programs last week, and finished another book. Yeah!

On July 9, I visited Charles B. Washington Branch to attend Wildlife Encounters. This is one of my favorite programs every summer. Wildlife Encounters is a non-profit 501(c)3 organization dedicated to educating the public about our natural world while offering a home for animals in need. Last year when I attended this program, I met a hedgehog, tarantula, bearded dragon and kangaroo! This year was just as much fun! Kip introduced us to a macaw; a kinkajou (honey bear); a python; some creepy, crawly cockroaches; a crocodile; and my favorite, a baby wolf. We learned a little bit about each animal. Did you know that crocodiles drink through their throats? The wolf baby reminded me a lot of my own dog because of the way she was carrying on dramatically in her kennel. I couldn’t resist her whining, and convinced Kip to let her out to play for a minute before heading off to their next gig. You can see more photos from the event here. The program at Washington Branch is Wildlife Encounters’ last for OPL this summer, but if you get the chance to see them elsewhere, check them out! You won’t regret it. Follow them on Facebook or Twitter to see more of their adventures.

Holding a honey bear.

Holding a honey bear.

No worries... it's just a python!

No worries… it’s just a python!

The wolf puppy just wants to play.

The wolf puppy just wants to play.

After leaving Washington Branch, I went to Benson Branch for Fizz, Eww, Slime. I met Alex Hoffman from KETV there to share some of the fun, free activities for families at Omaha Public Library. Miss Nancy dressed up as a mad scientist for this program and the kids learned how to make their own “oobleck” from Dr. Seuss’ Bartholomew and the Oobleck. They may have learned a little bit of chemistry in the process, but didn’t seem to notice because they were still having fun. One of the most valuable things I saw while at this program was teamwork. Everyone attending the program had to pair up with another person for some of the activities. They were so polite, taking turns and making decisions together… It was great to see. What was even more awesome was the number of people in the Library who weren’t even there for the program. Outside, the meeting room was bustling with activity and adorable children. See more pictures from Benson Branch here. If you think your child may be interested in Fizz, Eww, Slime, check out our online calendar to see if there will be a program at a branch nearby!

Making oobleck

Making oobleck

Making paint takes teamwork!

Making paint takes teamwork!

 

The Total Money Makeover

The Total Money Makeover

Finally, I finished reading The Total Money Makeover by Dave Ramsey. I’ve never listened to his radio show, and I wasn’t even sure I needed a TOTAL money makeover. I read the book because it was recommended by a friend and because I often find myself at the end of month (or year) not being certain where my money went or how I spent it. Plus, I don’t think it’s ever a bad idea to read about how to better save money. The book offers some solid commen sense principles for people who find themselves with overwhelming debt. I think my greatest takeaway from the book will just be how to organize a written budget. There are some helpful worksheets in the back of the book that list almost every expense imaginable. If I ever want to know where my money went, that’s a great place to start!

 

Leave a Reply

