My SRP 2014 – June 17

On June 16, I attended the My Little Pony party at Milton R. Abrahams Branch. I wasn’t sure what to expect, as we were told there would be an appearance by a real live My Little Pony from Equestria! The room was packed with eager fans and finally, Twilight Sparkles appeared to answer questions from the crowd and read a story from the My Little Pony collection. Many children wanted to know where Twilight Sparkles’ friends were, and why they couldn’t make it to Abrahams Branch for the party. It turned out these ponies had some serious business to attend to back home! After the storytime and singing songs, all were invited to have their picture taken with Twilight Sparkles and do a craft where they made their own unicorn horn.

Posing with Twilight Sparkles

Posing with Twilight Sparkles

Many kids brought their own My Little Pony figurines and stuffed animals from home. A group from Maximum Heights Academy attended, as well as a group of Bronies! Find more photos from this event on OPL’s Flickr page.

Friends from Maximum Heights Academy

Friends from Maximum Heights Academy

Bronies

Bronies

My biologist badge!

My biologist badge!

A good time was had by all, and many folks stuck around afterward to sign up for Summer Reading Program and pick out some books to take home, or read in the library. I even earned another badge toward my SRP goal!

Next week, Abrahams Branch will have a princess party with Pocahontas on Monday, June 23 at 2 p.m. Check out the all-in-one program guide for more themed parties and fun activities happening throughout the city this summer.

Leave a Reply

