My SRP 2014 – Week 1

Omaha Public Library‘s Summer Reading Program kicked off last Friday with a block party at W. Dale Clark Main Library! All ages enjoyed classic cars, storytime, chalk drawing and refreshments. WOWT and KMTV stopped by to cover the event and share more information about parties happening the next day at all other OPL locations. While all of that was happening, I was on my way back to Nebraska after a weeklong vacation in sunny San Diego. I’m glad I took an early summer vacation, because it’s been a whirlwind ever since!

Saturday morning, KETV welcomed me to their morning news to talk about Summer Reading Program. Kick-off parties were taking place that day 1-3 p.m., and I stopped by three OPL locations.

First stop: South Omaha Library. Kids enjoyed coloring sheets with the Fizz, Boom, Read! summer reading theme, face painting, and a bounce house!

coloring at the library

Coloring while waiting for face painting.

waiting for mom

Waiting for mom…

signing up for library cards

Signing up for new library cards

Next stop: Willa Cather Branch. Families had the chance to touch and see a variety of animal furs, play with magnets, eat snacks, and have their faces painted.

these sisters aren't camera shy

These sisters weren’t camera shy and knew how to strike a pose!

young lady reading

This young lady decided to get a jump start on her reading while waiting for her face to get painted.

OPL mascot Scamper

OPL’s mascot has become a fan favorite among Omaha kids!

Last stop: A.V. Sorensen Branch. When I arrived, I walked into a magic show with Jeff Quinn, craft time, kids gaming in the teen room, and lots of summer reads being carefully selected. My favorite part of the afternoon was watching one young man who didn’t once take his nose out of his book the entire time I was there. His parents later told me that he had looked forward to coming to the library all day, and that he always has a book nearby.

coloring at the library

Truth time: These guys were already done with their craft when I walked up, but graciously agreed to pretend for me so I could snap a photo. What gentlemen! 🙂

reading at the library

I think that shelf of movies could have tipped over and this young man would not have noticed! That’s how engrossed he was in his book!

just one more block...

Just one more block…

On Tuesday, Mike and Mary welcomed me to the set of The Morning Blend to talk about summer reading. I always have a good time when I visit their show and hopefully, more people learned about summer reading, too!

Emily on The Morning Blend

On The Morning Blend on Tuesday!

Other than that, it was business as usual this week! This weekend offers many summer reading programs and events. The Omaha Summer Arts Festival will be downtown, including a book sale on the first floor and the 19th annual Young Artists Exhibition in the Michael Phipps Gallery on the fourth floor at W. Dale Clark Main Library. There will even be a car show at Millard Branch! Don’t forget about the regularly scheduled Friends of OPL book sale at W. Clarke Swanson Branch.

Next week I will begin attending some of the programs at OPL locations throughout the city. Check back or Follow for updates (by clicking the box on the bottom righthand corner of this screen) to see what fun I have!

Leave a Reply

