My SRP 2013 – Day 41

chalk fun

Me with my chalk!

This morning I attended a Chalk Drawing program at W. Clarke Swanson Branch and was grateful for a break in the heat so we could exercise our imaginations outside! Kids gathered around the chalk shyly at first, but it didn’t take long before colorful artwork adorned the sidewalks. One young lady started by drawing a stem and slowly built a picture of a flower that grew so large that it reminded me of the plant from Little Shop of Horrors. One family created a mosaic and filled in all of the spaces with a new color. By the time we were finished, there was an army of ants, flowers, stars, butterflies, colored bricks, a blue elephant, a tandem bicycle and what I think was a turtle. Personally, I don’t have an ounce of artistic talent, so I tried to stand by with my camera and capture the greatness, but after a little while, I couldn’t resist and ended up drawing a blue bird-like creature. That’s pretty much the extent of what I am capable of drawing. I included more pictures below. See them all on our Flickr site!

Tomorrow I will attend the Parent-Child Cooking: Preparing Safe Food program at Charles B. Washington Branch at 2 p.m.

My blue bird with a purple wing

sidewalk chalk art at the library

sidewalk chalk art at the library

sidewalk chalk art at the library

sidewalk chalk art at the library

sidewalk chalk art at the library

2 thoughts on “My SRP 2013 – Day 41

  1. We also had a day of playing with chalk at our summer reading program but it was in conjunction with our remote-control car rally. When the cars all ran out of batteries after 10 minutes we picked up the chalk instead!

Leave a Reply

