My SRP 2013 – Day 28

Pam Cheever with the Douglas/Sarpy County Extension Office

Pam Cheever

It was another busy week at OPL, and yesterday we learned about reptiles from Pam Cheever with the Douglas/Sarpy County Extension Office. Frogs, a bearded dragon, garter snakes and boas – I learned more about these creatures than I ever imagined. Did you know that a garter snake, often mispronounced as “gartner” snake, got its name because it actually looks like a garter used to hold up stalkings or socks? Or that some frogs have “nuptial pads” to grip their mates? The program was at W. Dale Clark Main Library and had a slightly small crowd of about 30 people due to the rain today. I didn’t mind – that meant more time for the rest of us to play with the creatures. I’ve included some pictures below, and there are more on the library’s Flickr site!

Omaha Public Library received some great coverage in the Omaha World-Herald from reporter Erin Grace, who decided to take her own Summer Reading Program journey in just one day! She made it to several programs and shared her experience with Omaha in an article on June 26. I love sharing our stories, but it’s even better when we can reach more people.

A few library staff members are getting ready to take flight to Chicago this weekend for the American Library Association annual conference – myself included! It’s not technically part of Summer Reading Program, but I do look forward to meeting new people and learning about what other libraries around the country are doing well. Also, this trip may be the only time I find to actually read. I will share more adventures from that trip when I return.

Reptiles at Omaha Public LibraryReptiles at Omaha Public Library

Reptiles at Omaha Public Library

That’s me, holding a snake

Reptiles at Omaha Public LibraryReptiles at Omaha Public LibraryReptiles at Omaha Public LibraryReptiles at Omaha Public LibraryReptiles at Omaha Public Library

Leave a Reply

