My SRP 2013 – Day 7

Me after hiking to the bottom of the Grand Canyon and back up to the top – photo ruined by the stupid hat shadow!

Last night I met with my book club to discuss the book Wild by Cheryl Strayed. It’s the author’s story of her hike on the Pacific Crest Trail. I struggled with this book. Not because it was a tough read, because it went really fast, actually – but I went back and forth with how to feel about the author. She had some issues, which is why she was hiking the trail by herself to begin with, and I teetered between admiration and anxiety about her and what she was doing. The story was rather timely for me, however. I picked this book up while on a recent vacation where I was doing quite a bit of hiking myself. Her tenacity to keep going empowered me in a weird way. I didn’t hike 1,100 miles (not even close), but it did feel really good to accomplish a goal that I had set for myself a long time ago. Anyway, if it sounds interesting to you, check it out for yourself and let me know what you think!

Tomorrow I am attending Yoga Storytime at A.V. Sorensen Branch! I can’t wait to see the cuteness! I will share pictures soon!

Other libraries across the country are also celebrating summer reading in their own special ways. The Seattle Public Library kicked off the program by setting the book domino chain world record. You can watch the video here. It’s pretty impressive, and I can’t help but think about how much time and work went into engineering this feat. More than that, I am completely jealous of the building that serves as the backdrop of this video. What a beautiful library! I wouldn’t mind going to work there everyday. Not that I mind good old W. Dale Clark, but that space is ginormous and beautiful – and I’m sure it would make me better at my job! 😉

The first week of Summer Reading Program is almost through, and there is so much to look forward to this weekend! The weather is threatening to dampen some of the plans, but rain or shine, OPL will be hosting a variety of events. There are so many that I can’t name them all here, but look at our online calendar to see everything happening across our 12 locations this weekend. OPL will be participating in the downtown Omaha Summer Arts Festival with a tent to sell books from the Friends of OPL and several other OPL items like t-shirts, drinkware and necklaces. Stop by and visit us anytime Friday & Saturday (11 a.m. to 8 p.m.) or Sunday (11 a.m. to 5 p.m.)! Another awesome event will take place at our Charles B. Washington Branch – the June Family Fair! Enjoy sno-cones, hot dogs, live music, bounce houses, clowns and more!

One thought on “My SRP 2013 – Day 7

  1. Like so many others, I’m curious about ‘Wild.’ However, it seems that other books have won over my attention, as this book has remained near the bottom of my to-read list. Perhaps I should consider moving it up!

    P.S. You go, girl! Hiking the Grand Canyon is no easy feat. My last trip there, my friend and I stuck to level hiking paths AWAY from the canyon.

Leave a Reply

