My SRP 2013 – Day 5

After an exhausting weekend of SRP kick-off parties, I decided to relax Sunday evening by watching the movie Capote – checked out from the Library, of course. It was a good follow up after finishing In Cold Blood. Did you know you can check out DVDs from the Library? You probably did, but I never checked one out until I started working here so I thought it might be worth a mention. Sometimes I have to wait for new and popular movie titles, but it’s kind of like getting a present when I receive the email saying my movie is available – and then I have 14 days to watch it!

Monday, I did manage to get photos from the Summer Reading Program kick-off parties posted to OPL’s Flickr account – so you can check those out here.

Friends of OPL

Friends of OPL

I attended a board meeting last night for the Friends of OPL. They are a great group of library volunteers who advocate on behalf of OPL and raise funds through book sales and memberships. The money raised comes back to support library programs. Anyway, this was their last meeting before taking a break for the summer. When I say “taking a break,” that only means they won’t be having the monthly board meeting – the number of hours this group contributes in a month is kind of amazing. I think someone said 700+ hours in May alone. We are so grateful and new members are always welcome. I posted some pics of them on Flickr, too.

I’ve been reading a lot lately, and sometimes think I’d prefer a crossword puzzle to picking up another new book, but I decided to start a book recommended to me by a man in my German language class. The book, Flags of Our Fathers, by James Bradley, shares the stories behind the men in the famous photo of raising the flag at Iwo Jima during WWII. The photo is one of the most recognized in history, but the flagraisers remained relatively unknown until this book. I’m about 20 pages in and already feel like I am learning so much.

Me on The Morning Blend

Today, I got to sit down with Mike & Mary at The Morning Blend to talk about Summer Reading Program. Always a good time. You can watch the interview here.

Leave a Reply

