My SRP 2013 – Day 3

Summer Reading Program got off to a great start at OPL! The kick-off party on Friday at Main Library went well and Channel 6 came out to cover the action. Saturday was cool and rainy. A perfect day to read! As a result, I finished my first book for SRP: In Cold Blood by Truman Capote. While I am intrigued by true crime and often get caught up watching Cold Case Files or old episodes of Unsolved Mysteries, this book rattled me. This account of the 1959 slayings of a Kansas family caused me to double check my locks and windows before going to bed at night. The senselessness of the crime and lack of remorse from those who committed it was truly difficult to comprehend.

Before I picked up my next book, there were more parties to attend. All branches (aside from Main Library) had kick-off parties on Saturday and the adults only party was at Omaha Children’s Museum. The afternoon started off with a call from a reporter at the Omaha World-Herald. The article came out today and will hopefully and bring more awareness to the program. I couldn’t make it to all 12 parties yesterday, but I did my best – making stops at Willa Cather Branch, A.V. Sorensen Branch, Benson Branch and Milton R. Abrahams Branch.

During the parties, I got invited to join the Nebraska Knitting & Crochet Guild, saw farm animals from the 4-H Club “Country Bumpkins,” watched kids make their own leather bookmarks and saw clowns making balloon animals. I took A LOT of pictures and hope to have them posted to OPL’s Flickr account tomorrow. In the meantime, I have added a couple of my favorites here.

DSC_0425Three for "Class Two at the Zoo!"Bookmarks at Benson BranchDigging into Reading at Willa Cather Branch

Leave a Reply

