Take a Page – Vince Bogener

Every other week, we share what our patrons are reading with the Omaha World-Herald.

This week, Milton R. Abrahams Branch patron Vince Bogener shares five of his favorite reads:

Vince Bogener
1. “Boy’s Life” by Robert R. McCammon. This is probably my all-time favorite book. I read it as a young teenager and it is just magic through and through. It’s a murder mystery wrapped up in gothic fantasy. It’s similar to Stephen King’s “It” with the nostalgia feel, but I think a far superior book.  

2. “A Prayer for Owen Meany” by John Irving. This book led me to explore more literature courses in college. It was the first book where I could actually recognize and interpret the literary techniques used without having a teacher or professor guide me through it. The story is also amazing and the ending hard to forget.  
3.  “The Devil in the White City” by Erik Larson. I enjoy reading about snapshots in history that explore stories that you would never find in a textbook. Erik Larson manages to tie a serial killer story into a portrait of end of 19th century Chicago. It’s thrilling and educational at the same time.

4. “I Am Not Myself These Days” by Josh Kilmer-Purcell. I was hesitant to read this book at first, even with a glowing recommendation from a good friend of mine. Once I picked it up though, I couldn’t put it down. It’s ultimately a tragic romance between two deviants who fall madly in love with each other only to self-destruct. The ending shattered me and left me in tears, something only very powerful books manage.

5. “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows” by J.K. Rowling. I’ve read the entire series probably 10 or more times, and it’s never lost its magic for me. I picked the final book only because it ties everything together and we finally get the Battle of Hogwarts where good triumphs over evil. I read the entire book in one sitting and then started it again immediately after I finished. It’s magical.

Leave a Reply

